No huge legislative changes have arrived for vehicle tinting laws in the state of Nevada. The same goes for the Las Vegas and Henderson metro areas. However, it’s likely that law enforcement officials will become particular about existing rules and statutes. Check out these big laws that highway patrols will be looking out for in 2021.
Darker window tint allows for more security, privacy, and UV protection in a vehicle. They also reduce the driver’s visibility if they are too dark. Lowered visibility will then increase the likelihood of accidents or collisions.
They can also make traffic stops more inconvenient. Law enforcement feels that excessively tinted windows can endanger the public as a security risk. You would rather not be pulled over before your windows are too dark.
State laws vary on window tinting regulation for installation and driving. In California and Nevada, for example, the laws factor in the amount of sunlight. Colder areas may not have this consideration, owing to less UV rays on a daily basis. They may also have specific regulations on tint percentages and color.
Current laws impacting sedans, SUVs and vans allow any darkness to be used for back side and rear windows. The windshield is allowed a non-reflective tint that can exceed the AS-1 line of the original equipment manufacturer. It’s when you start to get into front side windows that things start to get more complicated.
SUVs and vans must allow more than 35 percent of light through their front side windows. Sedan drivers are normally held to the same standard, but this figure only refers to visible light. You can install a piece that blocks almost all of the ultraviolet light that passes through glass, since this doesn’t have an impact on the ability for someone to see in and out of the driver’s compartment.
Since 1993, Nevada legal professionals have opined that motorists have a 7 percent or so tolerance to be inside of when it comes to that 35 percent figure. That means you might not have to worry if your windows look slightly darker in some light than in orders.
While you’ll normally be allowed to tint your windows with any color you’d like, Nevada does restrict the use of certain shades of red and amber. These colors allow so much light, so few motorists are going to complain about this law. Red and amber can also make your vehicle look like a police car in some lights, so legislators have clamped down on their usage.
Medical conditions can affect your driving and the window tinting percentage. As long as you have certain documents on file and have an official diagnosis from a physician regarding a light-sensitive disorder, you may qualify for a medical exemption in the state of Nevada. If that’s the case, then you could legally have darker tints than would normally be allowed though you wouldn’t be able to share your vehicle with others as part of a pool.
All manufacturers of film products have to certify the film they provide in order to legally install it in the state of Nevada. Team Acme’s specialists always use certified products and do their best to install them in a way that doesn’t do any damage to the underlying surface. Once a tint is in place, it can be removed at a later date if necessary.
At Team Acme, our crews always make sure to watch for any changes that might impact individual motorists who have their windows tinted. No matter the amount of light on the road, you want to follow the laws about tint darkness.
Anybody who is interested in having tinting installed, or for that matter removed, and wants to make sure that they will stay within the legal limits can contact us online. You may also want to request a free auto glass tinting quote from Team Acme.